What New Jersey Realtors Should Know About Continuing EducationPDH Real Estate
Realtor continuing education requirements are in place in the state of New Jersey in 2015 in order to renew or reactivate a license. Referral agents are exempt from these requirements, along with realtors who received licenses within the second year of the real estate license term. Knowing what courses and hours are needed is important so that a realtor can complete requirements before the time comes to renew licenses.
Twelve hours of continuing education is required for brokers, salespersons and broker-salespersons every two years in order to renew licenses. While the renewal deadline is June 30, 2017, all courses must be successfully completed by April 30, 2017. A minimum of six hours must be in core topics, with two hours of the six on ethics. The additional six hours needed can be chosen from electives.
What Are the Core Topics?
According to the Real Estate Commission in the state of New Jersey, there are eight core topics to choose from to complete your requirements. In addition to the two-hour mandatory course on ethics, you can choose from the following: legal issues, agency, fair housing, disclosure, legal requirements on escrow and recordkeeping, statutes and regulations for brokers and salespersons, and environmental laws and regulations with regard to real estate.
What Is Included in the Electives Category?
Electives let you take courses of study that interest you, expand your knowledge and learn more about areas of real estate you might like to pursue in the future. These include property management, financing, valuation of real estate, commercial real estate, transactions involving short sales and foreclosures, seasonal rentals, aspects concerning residential transactions, land use and a course on the Full Disclosure Act and Timeshare Act. Six hours of elective courses must be chosen to complete your 12-hour requirement.
Exceptions for Realtor Continuing Education Requirements
A waiver can be granted under certain circumstances if the educational requirements for relicensing cannot be met. You can get a waiver only if you are on active military duty, have an illness that incapacitates you, have an emergency or some other type of unavoidable but substantial hardship. This does not include obligations that are personal, financial problems or business conflicts. Applications for waivers are available on the Real Estate Commission website for the state of New Jersey. Except for active military, these courses must be made up during the next cycle before a license can be renewed. In other words, if an applicant is two credits short and is granted relicensing due to a waiver, that two credits of education must be added to the 12 hours required for the next relicensing for a total of 14 hours.
Taking Classes to Get Your Initial Real Estate License
For those who are interested in obtaining an initial real estate license in New Jersey, the rules for continuing education are not in force. In other words, under N.J.A.C. 11:5-12.3(a)(2), if a broker course is completed within the licensing term of two years, the requirement for continuing education is considered completed.
Taking Your Required Courses the Easy Way
Real estate salespersons, brokers and broker-salespersons are busy people with irregular hours. It is important for them to be able to take the required realtor continuing education courses for license renewal at convenient times. PDH Academy offers the correspondence and online courses you need for realtor continuing education, and you can study at the office during free periods or in the comfort of your home. We offer unlimited support, group discounts and report your results to the New Jersey Real Estate Commission Board for you. Contact us for more information.