6 Frequently Asked Questions About Continuing Education for Florida RealtorsPDH Staff
If you are like any current or aspiring realtor, you likely have a few questions regarding continuing education. It is no secret that continuing education can pack a few surprising punches when it becomes time to renew your real estate license. These frequently asked questions may help you better understand your next steps in the process of obtaining or maintaining your Florida real estate license.
1. My license is about to expire. What should I do?
You need to renew your real estate license. The process differs from state to state, but Florida’s is relatively easy. Sales associates are required to pay $64, and brokers are required to pay $72 to the Department of Business and Professional Regulation. You must also ensure that you have completed all continuing education requirements and that the agency you took them through has reported it.
2. My Florida real estate license is inactive. Am I required to take continuing education?
Yes. You are required to take continuing education no matter the status of your real estate license. In Florida, you must complete 45 hours of post-licensing education as a sales associate. If you are a broker, you are required to complete 60 hours of education.
3. How do I submit proof of my continuing education?
The provider of the course you take will report your continuing education hours to Florida’s Department of Business and Professional Regulation. Still, it is wise for you to keep any proof that you have completed these courses as a safeguard. You never know when the DBPR may have questions about completion of your courses.
4. Can I request that my license renewal requirements be postponed?
In Florida, you are not allowed to have your license renewal requirements, including those regarding continuing education, postponed. If you fail to meet the requirements of your license, it will become inactive on an involuntary basis. This means that you will not be able to operate as a realtor and you will be required to pay an extra fine.
5. How do I reactive my license once it has expired?
If you do allow your license to expire, you will be required to complete 14 hours of continuing education hours to renew it in Florida. Additionally, you need to pay the license renewal fee. If your license is involuntarily inactive, you must complete a reactivation course that takes 28 hours to complete. You must then renew your license by the end of two years. Otherwise, your license becomes void in the state of Florida
6. Am I eligible to receive credit for a course I repeated?
You may not repeat a specific course until your current licensing period is over. You will receive credit for the same course twice only after a second licensing period has passed. On the other hand, you may receive credit for completing two courses in the same field or category during the same licensing period.
Every Florida realtor has questions about continuing education. Are you still struggling to find answers? Contact us for more information about continuing education requirements.