Just like any other state, New Hampshire has its own set of regulations surrounding work as a real estate agent. If you are licensed and expect to continue working as a realtor in your state, you must abide by New Hampshire’s continuing education requirements. Here are a few common questions realtors often have about their continuing education requirements:
1. How many classes do I need to take to maintain my license?
New Hampshire real estate agents must complete 15 hours of continuing education every two-year period. Of these hours, three are required to be core courses. The remaining hours consist of electives.
2. When is the deadline for taking continuing education courses?
On the two-year anniversary of the date the license was issued, your deadline for renewal occurs.
3. May I take correspondence courses to complete my continuing education requirements?
Yes, it is possible to achieve your credits with correspondence courses. New Hampshire requires that you pass your exam with a score of at least 85 percent. It is also important that you retain your certificate of completion.
4. Who reports my completion of courses to the New Hampshire board?
The school you attend for your continuing education courses will take care of this for you, reporting to the New Hampshire Real Estate Commission.
5. What kinds of courses are available for New Hampshire realtors?
The course offerings vary depending on where you choose to take them. Course topics include safety while showing homes, the basics of investing in real estate, making your business paperless, and understanding the laws surrounding home loans.
6. What happens if I am unable to complete my continuing education requirements by the deadline?
If you do not fulfill your continuing education requirements by the two-year mark, your real estate license will become inactive. You will not be eligible to practice during this time. You can activate your license again by completing the requirements and paying a fee.
7. Why am I required to take continuing education courses as a realtor?
Real estate agents and brokers are required to take continuing education courses in an effort to ensure standards of professionalism in the field. Additionally, real estate agents are expected to stay up to date with current practices and new laws.
8. How much does it cost to renew my license after I complete continuing education requirements?
Once you complete the requirements to renew your license, you must pay a renewal fee of $80 to active your real estate salesperson license. For brokers, the fee is $100. There is a six-month grace period between the date the license expires and the date to renew the license without retaking examinations.
Do you still have questions about the New Hampshire real estate continuing education requirements? Contact us for more information about keeping your license up to date.