Buying and selling homes in Florida may seem like a difficult process, but obtaining your real estate license may be just the beginning of seeing the world in a new light. If you have ever been interested in Florida properties, you have many reasons to consider seeking an associate salesperson license. As always, requirements for obtaining a real estate license vary from state to state. If you are considering obtaining a license in Florida, this guide will walk you through the process.
1. Meet Basic Requirements
If you want to work as a real estate agent, you must first be 18 years or older. You must also have a United States security number as well as a high school diploma or the equivalent. This includes a GED. You do not have to be a resident of the state of Florida to have a real estate license in the state.
You must also agree to undergo electronic fingerprinting via a Livescan vendor. This does not take long, and you can even have your fingerprinting performed by Pearson Vue when you go in for your real estate examination.
2. Take Pre-Licensing Courses
In order to work as a real estate agent in Florida, you must first take a 63-hour pre-licensing course that covers real estate material. You can take courses in a variety of ways, including both in a classroom and online. Courses for Spanish-speakers are also available through Florida’s real estate schools.
In order to move forward in the process, you must receive a score of at least 70% on the final examination of the course. Upon completion, you will receive a certificate that serves as evidence.
3. Submit an Application
The Florida state license application must be completed after you pass the pre-licensing education. You may complete it online or print it and send it in. It is important that you are as honest as possible to avoid delay or denial of your license. You should receive notice that your application was approved in the mail.
4. Pass the Real Estate Examination
Pearson Vue hosts the real estate examination, which takes 3.5 hours to take. Make sure to bring with you two forms of identification, both of which need to have your signature on them. One piece of identification should also have your picture on it. Make sure to bring the certificate showing that you completed the pre-licensing course as well.
The exam itself contains 100 questions, all multiple choice. Of these questions, 45 pertain to real estate principles and practice, 45 pertain to state and national laws, and 10 are linked to math issues. You must pass with a score of 75 or higher. You will know the results as soon as you complete the examination. You can reschedule the exam if you do not pass.
5. Work with a Real Estate Broker
You will also need to activate your real estate license, which cannot be done until you have a signed statement from a real estate broker who has agreed to sponsor you. The broker will act as your mentor as you begin your real estate career.
Once you have your license, you must complete a 45-hour post-license course within the first year. You must also take 14 hours of continuing education each renewal period. Contact us for more information about taking these courses online with ease, allowing you to renew your license efficiently.