A real estate salesperson license acts as a gateway to the future. With a New Hampshire real estate license, you can pursue a new career. While working as a real estate agent, you can set your own schedule. You work for commission, and you can do your own marketing to attract more clients. When it comes to your career as a real estate salesperson, you are in the driver’s seat.
This guide will walk you through the basic steps of becoming a real estate agent in New Hampshire. Step by step, you will learn exactly what you need to do to be eligible for the job.
Meet New Hampshire’s Basic Real Estate Requirements
New Hampshire has several basic requirements for obtaining your real estate license. In order to become a real estate agent in New Hampshire, you must be at least 18 years old. You should also have obtained a high school diploma.
In order to obtain a real estate sales license, you must be deemed trustworthy by New Hampshire’s real estate commission. For example, you must disclose your criminal history, including both felonies and misdemeanors. You are not eligible for a real estate license if you have undischarged court documents against you. You will be required to submit a notarized criminal record release form as well as a fee for the background check.
On your real estate license application, you may be asked about your criminal background. It is important that you are honest on this application. If you are caught lying, you may be prohibited from obtaining a real estate license even if the crimes involved would not have stopped you originally.
Finally, you must be willing to submit three affidavits that include character references. Ideally, these references will come from people who know you well personally and in a professional capacity.
Attend Pre-Licensing Real Estate Courses
You are required to take 40 hours of approved classroom and online study in order to obtain a sales license. The classes are designed to prepare you for work as a real estate agent, but they will also help you pass the upcoming examination. Online coursework gives you the freedom to study from home on your own schedule.
The topics covered in real estate pre-licensing courses are broad. You will be studying topics like legal principles, agency relationships, purchase contracts, how to handle funds, and conditions for termination. You will delve into rights of ownership, tenancy rules, managing condominiums, and understanding different types of leases. Courses teach the difference between voluntary and involuntary liens, how to abide by the Americans with Disabilities Act, and what to expect while evaluating properties.
Pass New Hampshire State and National Real Estate Exams
Your next step is to pass the real estate examinations. The national and state portions of the real estate examination are administered via computer throughout the week in four testing centers. Testing centers are in Concord, Manchester, Nashua, and Portsmouth, and the test is administered through AMP. You can reserve a spot and pay the testing fee through the company’s website.
The national portion of the exam contains 100 questions, all of which are multiple choice. This segment encompasses subjects like vocabulary, basic real estate math, and rules for listing properties. These questions will test you on the subjects that apply to real estate throughout the country.
The state segment of the real estate exam contains 40 questions. These questions are specific to New Hampshire real estate laws and ethics. In order to pass, you must score at least 70 percent.
You must arrive at the testing center on time or else you may be denied entry. You must also bring a government-issued ID card with your full name, signature, and photo. This can be a driver’s license, state identification, passport, or military identification. You may not bring in any notes, cameras, phones, or recorders.
The tranquil nature of New Hampshire has a lot to offer buyers and sellers.
You do not need to have extensive computer experience in order to take the test. The testing fees are not refundable, and the test is timed. You have 3.5 hours to take both portions of the examination, which are combined. As you take the test, you will be able to see the time on the screen.
If you do not pass either portion of the exam, you will receive your results right away. You will have the option to retake the exam if you do not pass.
New Hampshire has reciprocity agreements with several states, including Massachusetts, Maine, Vermont, Tennessee, and Georgia. This means that you only need to take the state portion of the examination to have a real estate license after you already have a license in one of these states.
Apply for a Real Estate Salesperson License
Within six months of passing both portions of the exam, you need to submit your real estate license application. Otherwise, you will have to retake the exams. The real estate salesperson application is available online. The application is straightforward and simple to fill out. Be as honest as possible when you fill out the application to avoid it being declined or delayed.
Along with your real estate application, you must also submit the original score reports from your exam. You must also submit proof that you completed the educational requirements. Make sure to send the originals, not copies.
Meet Continuing Education Requirements
In order to renew your real estate license, you must take at least nine hours of continuing education courses each two-year period. This allows you to renew your license, but it also provides the opportunity to learn more about your chosen industry. With continuing education courses, you can easily delve into a niche that fascinates you, for example.
In your pursuit of continuing education requirements, you need to find a school offering courses you are interested in. We offer continuing education courses that fulfill the needs of your career and also allow you to focus on topics that matter to you. Contact us for more information about real estate courses.