As a new or developing real estate agent in Florida, you are sure to have many questions about renewing your license, education, and more. While the process of becoming a real estate sales associate is relatively straight forward, there is still so much to learn about working in the real estate industry as a professional.
This guide will walk you through some of the most frequently asked questions by new real estate agents in Florida.
1. How Do I Become a Real Estate Agent in Florida?
In order to work as a Florida real estate agent, you must complete a 63-hour course, which may be taken in a classroom or online. You must also pass the state licensing exam and have an acceptable criminal background check. Before your first license renewal, you must complete an additional 45 hours of post-licensing education.
2. How Do I Become a Real Estate Broker in Florida?
A real estate broker must have previously held a real estate sales associate license for at least two years within the last five years. The license also requires a 72-hour course and examination. After you receive your license, you must take an additional 60 hours of education to remain licensed.
3. How Do I Renew My Real Estate License?
After the first renewal period, you must take 14 hours of continuing education. The renewal period occurs every two years. You can also use the Florida Real Estate Commission’s online portal to see the requirements and complete the renewal process.
4. Does Florida Offer Mutual Recognition with Other States?
Mutual recognition allows real estate sales associates and brokers to obtain a license in both states without taking additional courses or the national portion of the state exam. These states include Alabama, Nebraska, Mississippi, Arkansas, Connecticut, Illinois, and Georgia.
5. Do I Have to Report Criminal Convictions to the Real Estate Commission?
Yes. Within 30 days of being convicted or found guilty of a crime in any state, you must report it to the Florida Real Estate Commission. Failing to do so may lead to fines, license suspension, or complete revocation of your real estate license.
6. What Happens if I Fail a Post-Licensing Education Exam?
The coursework you complete after you are licensed as a real estate agent will require that you take examinations for credit. If you fail one of the exams, you must wait 30 days to retake it. If you do not pass on the second try, you must repeat the entire course.
7. What Happens if You Don’t Complete Your Sales Associate License Requirements?
If you fail to complete the post-license education requirements in your first renewal period, your real estate license will become void. In order to have a license again, you must start over completely by taking the pre-license education and passing the state exam.
Education is the key to persevering as a real estate agent. Real estate courses will help you stay up to date with trends and changes in Florida’s real estate industry. Contact us for more information about real estate coursework to renew your license.