PDH Real Estate and OnlineEd have partnered to expand access to the pre-licensure real estate training you need to become a real estate professional in California.
OnlineEd is a licensed real estate and mortgage training school headquartered in Portland, Oregon that has been delivering online courses since 1998.
Through this partnership, you can begin your real estate career by enrolling in OnlineEd’s California Real Estate Pre-License Training Package. This package is a 135-hour online real estate broker salesperson package that includes:
- Practice Tests
- Printable Certificate
- PDF & EPUB eBook
Real estate salespersons renewing their license for the first time must take 45 hours of continuing education (CE). The California Department of Real Estate (DRE) requires different topics based on your license status.
OnlineEd’s continuing education courses are convenient and affordable. Learn more.
Your first step is to complete the required real estate salesperson pre-license training program. This will teach you about California real estate law and how real estate transactions work in California. Real estate pre-license training consists of three 45-hour courses:
- Real Estate Principles (required)
- Real Estate Practice (required)
- Legal Aspects of Real Estate* (elective)
* Although you may choose from a list of 45-hour elective topics, we bundle Legal Aspects of Real Estate with all of our California salesperson pre-license packages. This course has the most useful information for most agents.
All courses are broken into modules with review quizzes at the end and conclude with a final exam. You must pass each final exam with a score of at least 75% to complete each course.
You can complete online courses entirely at your own pace. You are allowed one year to complete the coursework.
OnlineEd offers all required California real estate pre-license courses as a salesperson licensing bundle that includes instructor support and exam prep materials to help you pass the state exam on the first try.
California Real Estate Salespersons Pre-License Education Requirements
- Hours Required: 45 hours
- Reporting: OnlineEd will report your completed course information to the state exam proctor, PSI.
- Time Constraints: The California DRE requires that pre-license courses not be completed in less than 17-1/2 days from enrollment, per course. This means that if purchased as a package, the 135 hours necessary to obtain a California salesperson license may not be completed in less than 54 days from enrollment.
The California Department of Real Estate (DRE) require salespersons who desire to upgrade their real estate license to the broker status to be at least 18 years old, be honest and truthful, have a minimum of two years of licensed California salesperson experience, and successfully complete eight 45-hour real estate education courses. Three of the eight courses (Real Estate Principles, Real Estate Practice, and Legal Aspects of Real Estate) may have been completed as part of the initial salesperson licensing requirements.
- California Property Management (45 hours)
- California Real Estate Appraisal Principles and Procedures (45 hours)
- California Real Estate Economics (45 hours)
- California Real Estate Finance and Loan Brokering (45 hours)
- Introduction to California Escrow (45 hours)
California Real Estate Commission
Read the California real estate pre-license how-to page to learn how to get a California real estate license.